Carrageenan is a polysaccharide (a carbohydrate molecule) that is derived from red seaweed. It is made by boiling the seaweed and extracting the carrageenan. It is often used in conjunction with agar, guar gum, or xanthan gum in foods. It is rampant in processed foods but is also found in many foods branded “organic.”
For over 50 years the food industry has been using carrageenan in foods and, thankfully, the studies go back just as far. Researchers have time and time again proven carrageenan causes allergies, induces inflammation, and leads to a host of health problems. Yet, this emulsifier is still allowed to be added to foods!
Carrageenan is a powerful allergen found to cause anaphylaxis in humans. Researchers actually use carrageenan to produce allergies and inflammation in animals to better study their reactions to pain medication or antihistamines. Because carrageenan is found in baby formulas and other milk products, many people mistake their reaction to carrageenan for a dairy allergy and go on drinking plant-based milk substitutes — which also often contain this allergen as well.
This text is not my own and was taken from the Ark of Wellness blog. Continue reading.